Embrace the route

  
I had a conversation with a friend, kinda friend, of mine recently. He was feeling some type of way about where he was in his life. He was doubting himself. He was concerned about decisions he’d been so certain about. He was seeing his plan fall apart, and his destination felt too far a way. He felt lost. 

I get it. I get caught up in those same feelings. I’m not where I’m supposed to be. I’m not doing what I’m supposed to be doing. I’m not loving who I’m supposed to be loving. Nothing is as planned. Nothing.

And, it’s hard to complain when where you are isn’t bad. It’s not right. It’s not the plan, but it’s not bad either. There are people in bad situations, but you aren’t one of them. 

My plan, my destination, can’t be totally wrong, right? 

No, it’s not wrong at all. That initial plan, the ultimate destination, might just be absolutely perfect. But, maybe the route isn’t. Maybe you’re supposed to go through hard times you didn’t expect, face challenges that you didn’t plan for, and have loves that you never saw coming. Maybe your route was meant to teach you things you needed to know to better prepare you for your destination. Maybe your route needed to be harder to ensure you appreciated the final stop. Maybe 50,000 different things. 

Your plan isn’t totally undone just because your route changes. 

Routes build character. Routes are important. 

Embrace the route you’re on. This route is apart of your story. Don’t dwell on how different things should be. Learn the lesson. Appreciate the people on your path. Stay the course. Enjoy the route. 

Leave a Reply

